The Electoral Commission [EC] is constituted as an independent, non-partisan authority that has responsibility for the registration of voters and the conduct of free and fair elections in accordance with the written law governing elections.

The EC is responsible for receipt and returning of the Writ, voter registration and maintenance of the Register of Voters, voter education, candidate registration, settlement of electoral disputes, including disputes relating to or arising from nominations, but excluding election petitions and disputes subsequent to the declaration of election results and monitoring compliance with any written law governing elections and political parties.

The EC consists of six [6] Commissioners and a Chairperson all of whom have been appointed for a term of three [3] years. The first Commission under the 2013 Constitution was appointed in February 2014.

The EC secretariat is provided by the FEO and is based in Suva at the FEO headquarters. The EC meets periodically during non-election years whilst it determines its meetings as per the need during elections.

The Supervisor of Elections [SoE] reports on the activities of the FEO to the EC on a quarterly basis. The SoE provides reports to the EC as and when requested.

Font Resize
Change Color Contrasts