Fijian Elections Office Extends 2016 Voter Registration Drive

The Fijian Elections Office [FEO] has extended the 2016 School Electronic Voter Registration [EVR] Drive to all major towns and centres around Fiji for the next 2 weeks.

“Since the beginning of the 2016 School Voter registration Drive, we have been receiving several requests from members of the public who either wanted to update their addresses with us or get a replacement Id card and that is why FEO has extended the registration drive to major town centres,” Supervisor of Elections Mr Mohammed Saneem said.

Eligible voters who wish to register need to bring their birth certificate and a valid form of ID to register.

For details on the locations and times, check daily newspapers or visit the FEO website.

Fiji’s Supervisor of Elections joins MSG Observer Mission to Vanuatu

[responsivevoice_button voice=”UK English Male” buttontext=”Listen”]

The Supervisor of Elections, Mr. Mohammed Saneem, will join the Melanesian Spearhead Group (MSG) Observer Mission to observe the Snap Election in Vanuatu scheduled for January 22, 2016.

The MSG Observer Mission is led by former parliamentarian and Prime Minister of the Solomon Islands Sir Francis Billy Hilly and will also include observers from Papua New Guinea and New Caledonia.


Supervisor of Elections, Mr. Mohammed Saneem at the Bougainville Election 2015

Former President Ratu Epeli Nailatikau will also take part in the MSGs Observer Mission from Fiji. The Observer Mission will be joined by observer teams from the Pacific Islands Forum and the Commonwealth.

Mr. Saneem said he was honoured to observe Vanuatu’s Snap Election following Fiji’s participation in the Bougainville Election through the Pacific Islands Forum Observer Mission last year.

“As an Election Management Body (EMB), we are keen to observe elections throughout the Pacific to assist other EMBs and build trust and confidence in the democratic process through the conduct of transparent and accountable elections,” said Mr. Saneem.

The Snap Election will be contested by 183 candidates who will be vying for 52 seats, elected for a term of four years under 17 multi-member constituencies. The MSG Observer Mission will observe the conduct of these elections in line with international electoral practices.

1 5 6 7
Font Resize
Change Color Contrasts